Glock Talk

Glock Talk (http://glocktalk.com/forums/index.php)
-   Reloading (http://glocktalk.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph CEI3800... (http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1519932)

BENCH 02-17-2014 05:14

Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph CEI3800...
 
I needed one and the price and reviews were pretty good.

Wanted Oehler 35, but with a daughter in pharmacy school, I just couldn't turn loose of the extra money right now.

I'll probably just end up accidentally shooting it anyways:steamed:

Three-Five-Seven 02-17-2014 07:37

Have had some buddies purchase this one. Doesn't always work in morning light. I have a Chrony chronograph and it has never failed me.

jmorris 02-17-2014 08:47

I have a couple but always seem to have the small and cheap shooting chrony around when I need it.

Boxerglocker 02-17-2014 09:17

Nothing wrong with the Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph CEI3800. I’ve shot mine end to end with a Oehler 35, the difference is negligible.

ProChrono works great easy to use, very reliable, the indoor lighting kit works well. I just got the parts to build my own computer serial cable this weekend.

WeeWilly 02-17-2014 09:53

I have a few different chronographs, I use my CE Digital ProChrono most. It works great.

fredj338 02-17-2014 10:10

It's a solid chrono, better than the Chrony line, but I still hate shooting at the box. The Oehler, just a $15 screen if you hit anything, my choice, but they were only $200 when I bought mine. Today, I like the CED, good unit w/ just screens to shoot thru & the box on your bench for easy data collection. You'll wonder how you ever reloaded w/o one.

Brian Lee 02-17-2014 10:23

I have a Pro Chrono Digital and I've shot it twice. Second time i had to take it apart and glue some plastic back together, but it still works.

BENCH 02-17-2014 16:10

Thanks for the help guys.

Will be a couple of weeks before I will be able to use it, and I'll let you know what I think about it.

Bench

Zombie Steve 02-17-2014 16:17

I have a Pro Chrono. Only gripe is that the remote is as much as the chrono.

BENCH 02-17-2014 19:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zombie Steve (Post 21018562)
I have a Pro Chrono. Only gripe is that the remote is as much as the chrono.

i didn't even know it was an option.

Taterhead 02-17-2014 23:16

Good chrony. The better news is that if you do end up shooting it, they'll fix it or replace it pretty inexpensively. Very prompt customer service.

You won't shoot it if you 1) put a target behind the chrony so that you have a fine point to aim, and 2) remember the bore and scope height relationship if shooting rifle.

I shot my diffuser rods after my buddy asked about the previous velocity right as I was letting one go. My eyes went down to the chrony, and so did my aim. Shook it all apart. I re-assembled and it worked ok for a while, but eventually sent it back.

Boxerglocker 02-18-2014 09:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zombie Steve (Post 21018562)
I have a Pro Chrono. Only gripe is that the remote is as much as the chrono.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BENCH (Post 21019165)
i didn't even know it was an option.

I made a serial cable for $11 and downloaded the software for free. I didn't really need it but it will make it easier having my laptop on the bench when I develop rifle loads this spring.

EL_NinO619 02-18-2014 23:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zombie Steve (Post 21018562)
I have a Pro Chrono. Only gripe is that the remote is as much as the chrono.


Yep I have the cable and software. Had a gift card I needed to use. Like Boxer said, I like seeing the display and statistics on bench. I also like being able to change strings and not have to wait for a seize fire Best $130 I have spent in awhile

Beanie-Bean 02-19-2014 09:07

I have one of those, bench--do yourself a favor and get some 3/16" wooden dowels, and cut them to length like the steel rods it ships with.

Don't ask how I know about that :)

BENCH 02-19-2014 10:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boxerglocker (Post 21020335)
I made a serial cable for $11 and downloaded the software for free. I didn't really need it but it will make it easier having my laptop on the bench when I develop rifle loads this spring.

Would my IPad work in place of a laptop?

BENCH 02-19-2014 10:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by Beanie-Bean (Post 21022770)
I have one of those, bench--do yourself a favor and get some 3/16" wooden dowels, and cut them to length like the steel rods it ships with.

Don't ask how I know about that :)

Ok, I won't ask, and will do that.

Boxerglocker 02-19-2014 10:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by BENCH (Post 21022920)
Would my IPad work in place of a laptop?

NOPE, Windows 7 or 8.

EL_NinO619 02-21-2014 01:07

http://mylabradar.com/

Boxerglocker 02-24-2014 19:58

Got my serial cable built today and the software downloaded works good. Ready for some load development once the weather dries out.


Used my sons MEGA Nerf gun to test. The laptop is running Windows 7.
BTW I'm using the CE IR indoor light kit for testing, as you can see it works well. I've even used it at dusk outdoors and it doesn't miss a shot.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 15:31.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2013, Glock Talk, All Rights Reserved.