Glock Talk

Glock Talk (http://glocktalk.com/forums/index.php)
-   Reloading (http://glocktalk.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Help on crimp and CoL please (http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1460684)

Vatwo 12-28-2012 20:17

Help on crimp and CoL please

Just started loading 9mm for use in the indoor GSSF league shooting paper targets at 25 yds max. I am new to reloading and am struggling with the crimp amount on the Hornday LnL press. Is it ok if the bullet can be turned some in the case after crimping? Seems if I try to crimp any tighter I start to crush the case. Also, how consistant should the Case Overall Length be? Seems mine are varying as much as 10 thousands. Is this normal?

Thanks in advance,
Gary

buckshotshorty 12-28-2012 20:28

The bullet should not be able to turn inside the case. If it's that loose, it could possibly set back upon loading into the chamber. That would greatly increase pressure.
Are you full length sizing your cases? That alone should eliminate any movement of the bullet by making a tight fit. The only other thing I can think of is you may be flaring the case mouth too much.

The 10 thousands variation sometimes occurs. I think that all depends on the uniformity of the bullets and you really can't control that.

fredj338 12-28-2012 21:17

Make sure the szing die is screwed all the way down to the sheel plate. CHeck your expander dia, make sure it is not more than 0.354", smaller is better. Overcrimping can cause less neck tension, as you bow the case away from the bullet. Check your brass, some brass is thinner than others & w/ 0.355" bullet, you won't get proper neck tension, regardless of how much crimp you apply. Crimp just finishes the handload, it does NOT hold the bullet in place.

PCJim 12-29-2012 07:41