Glock Talk

Glock Talk (http://glocktalk.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tech Talk (http://glocktalk.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=86)
-   -   Ubuntu v Lubuntu (http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1455954)

syntaxerrorsix 12-03-2012 17:25

Ubuntu v Lubuntu

I've been running Ubuntu on my desktop for about 5 years now and have decided to dual boot my netbook (Acer Aspire One 1.33 GHz and GBb RAM) which is running XP. I still need Windows and I don't have a cd copy to install it under VB so I'm stuck.

The first attempt to run 12.1 produced unacceptable graphics lag and strain on resources. Unusable.

I'm now d/l a copy of Lubuntu.

I'm interested in hearing what others are using in case this fails to impress as well.

Thoughts?

captainstormy 12-03-2012 17:49

There isn't much power in that rig, I'd imagine you'll probably have to use something with lxde or xfce for the DE.

Depending on how comfortable you are with Linux, something sleek and lightweight (but not as user friendly) like arch would be a good bet if your comfortable with it.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

syntaxerrorsix 12-03-2012 17:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by captainstormy (Post 19696685)
There isn't much power in that rig, I'd imagine you'll probably have to use something with lxde or xfce for the DE.

Depending on how comfortable you are with Linux, something sleek and lightweight (but not as user friendly) like arch would be a good bet if your comfortable with it.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

I agree, which is why I was surprised that XP ran so well in comparison.

IndyGunFreak 12-03-2012 18:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by syntaxerrorsix (Post 19696718)
I agree, which is why I was surprised that XP ran so well in comparison.

I like Lubuntu, and think it will serve you well... It's a very simple interface that you'll likely pick up in no time.

WiskyT 12-03-2012 19:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by IndyGunFreak (Post 19696865)