Glock Talk

Glock Talk (http://glocktalk.com/forums/index.php)
-   Black Rifle Forum (http://glocktalk.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   1x4 or 2x8 Nikon 223 scope on my M4? (http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1447236)

WarEagle32 10-10-2012 23:39

1x4 or 2x8 Nikon 223 scope on my M4?

I am leaning heavy towards putting a variable scope on my 2nd M4. The other has an Aimpoint. This M4 will be used to do some hunting as well as pretty much every other type of shooting. I like the Nikons 223's so far. They are designed around the 55grain ammo that I shoot a ton of. I have about a 5 or 600 budget for the optic and mounts. I can't decide whether to get a 1x4 or a 2x8 to put on the M4. I am leaning hard towards the 2x8, but I'm sure a 1x4 would be great as well. Opinions please?

Kloogee 10-11-2012 05:37

I'm just a newbie, but I love my M223 scope on my DD rifle. Right now it's just a bench rest range gun, but would eventually like to do a bit of predator hunting with it.

Tim151515 10-11-2012 05:55

im looking at picking up the 1-4 nikon for my Colt. one question...will it be able to see over the fixed front site post? i really want a quality optic(without having to spend 4/5 hundred or more) but don't want one where im going to have to make other changes to my rifle to accomodate it.

GSSF17 10-11-2012 05:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tim151515 (Post 19506309)
im looking at picking up the 1-4 nikon for my Colt. one question...will it be able to see over the fixed front site post? i really want a quality optic(without having to spend 4/5 hundred or more) but don't want one where im going to have to make other changes to my rifle to accomodate it.

I got the Nikon P223 3x32 fixed optic on my Noveske, and it is friggin incredible. I also have the fixed front sight post, and it is not visible whatsoever- no "ghosting" or anything. I would imagine at 2x or less it would ghost a bit, but I don't know. YMMV

K. Foster 10-11-2012 09:24